The terms Six Sigma and belts can be confusing – we are more used to identifying belts with forms of martial art, so for someone not used to the concepts of Six Sigma roles and belts, it can be quite confusing to make sense of what they are exactly. Stay with us as we explore those concepts and make it easier for you to decide on the lean Six Sigma certification that can benefit your professional growth the most.

Roles and Belts

Roles and belts in the Six Sigma Principle are synonymous, which means that by designating someone as a Black Belt, Green Belt or a Yellow Belt, professionals within the curriculum or project are adhering to the roles which each of them are supposed to undertake respectively. However, not just anyone can be assigned a role and given the responsibilities that come with it.

In order to be recognized as such, the member of the team must have the necessary Six Sigma Belt certification. It is possible to get your lean six sigma certification online, negating the need to take time off work. This certificate acts as proof of the fact that the individual has indeed completed the necessary training program, and therefore, he/she is now able to take on the role in an effective manner.

What are the Various Belts of Six Sigma?

There are slight variations between the different programs, as a lot of modifications are often added to the degree courses to keep them more updated, and to make them more relevant to the specific industry in question. Nevertheless, we will only be focusing on the original Six Sigma Belts and the roles that each of them represents within the system.

White Belt

White Belt courses are the beginner’s Six Sigma certificate programs, meant to familiarize professionals with the basic ideas, terms and applicable concepts of the Six Sigma methodology.

Yellow Belt

Someone with a Six Sigma Yellow Belt is an intermediate professional who is familiar with all the basics of the discipline and its many tools. They can apply their knowledge of the methods to effectively reduce waste and improve work processes. However, they are not experts and still work under the leadership and guidance of Green Belts and Black Belts. Yellow Belts are often experts of the business process in question though.

Green Belt

Green Belts are the main workers and leaders within any project that’s following the Six Sigma Methodology. What makes them special is the fact that they are simultaneously experienced, trained experts of the business process in question, as well as the applicable tools and strategies of Six Sigma.

Black Belt

Black Belts are generally the executive heads who lead and guide multiple projects at once, each of which are individually headed by Green Belts. They already have the Green Belt Certificate necessary, because that’s a requirement before someone is allowed to train as a Black Belt. Master Black Belts on the other hand, generally assume a teaching role as it is the highest rank within the Six Sigma Discipline.

It should be duly noted that depending on the project’s nature and the concerned industry, the roles will vary to some degree at least. Because of that, the definitions above are kept general, so that readers can find the introductions to be useful for their respective fields of work.